Harold Hamm Oklahoma Diabetes Center

Text size Plus Minus


Steven D. Chernausek, MD: OKC Pediatric Endocrinology

Dr Chernaeuk

Steven D. Chernausek, MD

Recipient of the prestigious Edith Kinney Gaylord Endowed Chair in Pediatric Diabetes/Endocrinology, Dr. Chernausek is the director of the Pediatric Metabolic Research Program and associate chief of Pediatric Diabetes and Endocrinology. Board certified in pediatrics and pediatric endocrinology, Dr. Chernausek completed his fellowship in pediatric endocrinology at the University of North Carolina and his pediatric residency at the University of Minnesota . He has published more than 29 peer-reviewed articles and has served on the editorial boards of Endocrinology and the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism. To learn more about Dr. Chernausek click here.

Kenneth C. Copeland, MD: OKC Pediatric Endocrinology

Dr. Copeland

Kenneth C. Copeland, MD

Director of the pediatric program at the Harold Hamm Oklahoma Diabetes Center, Dr. Copeland holds the Paul and Ann Milburn Endowed Chair in Pediatric Diabetes/Endocrinology and is chief of the Diabetes and Endocrinology Section within the Department of Pediatrics.  Since 2002 Dr. Copeland has served as the national co-chair and Oklahoma principal investigator of the NIH-sponsored Treatment Options for Type 2 Diabetes in Adolescents and Youth (TODAY) study.

Dr. Copeland is a Past-President of the Lawson Wilkins Pediatric Endocrine Society, and in 2005 he co-authored the first American Diabetes Association standards of care for children with Type 1 Diabetes. To learn more about Dr. Copeland click here.

David H. Jelley, MD: Tulsa Pediatric Endocrinology

Dr. Jelley

David H. Jelley, MD

Director of the Harold Hamm Oklahoma Diabetes Center’s Tulsa Pediatric Clinic, Dr. Jelley has received 17 research grants with an emphasis in pediatric diabetes. Author of numerous peer-reviewed articles and abstracts, Dr. Jelley is the Hille Chair in Diabetes and Associate Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Oklahoma School of Community Medicine in Tulsa.

For more information click here.

Timothy J. Lyons, MD, FRCP: OKC Adult Endocrinology

Dr. Lyons

Timothy J. Lyons, MD, FRCP

Director of the Harold Hamm Oklahoma Diabetes Center, Dr. Lyons and his team have completed groundbreaking research devoted to understanding the complications of diabetes. Past Chair for the American Diabetes Association’s Research Policy Committee and a Member of the American Diabetes Association’s 70th Scientific Sessions Planning Committee, Dr. Lyons has had more than 80 articles published and made more than 140 presentations and published abstracts.

He is the Chickasaw Nation Chair of Diabetes Studies, the Professor of Medicine, Chief, Section of Diabetes and Endocrinology and program director of General Clinical Research Center. Dr. Lyons has received more than 40 grants as principal researcher including specific research on diabetic eye disease, diabetic kidney disease and the acceleration of vascular disease in diabetes and the increased prevalence of complications for pregnant women with diabetes. To learn more about Dr. Lyons click here.

Jian-Xing Ma, MD, PhD: OKC Adult Endocrinology

Dr. Ma

Jian-xing Ma, MD, PhD

Chairman of the department of physiology at the University of Oklahoma Health Science Center, Dr. Ma has received 19 research grants over the past five years. His research focuses on identifying genes in diabetes that can cause blindness as well as identifying causes of inflammation and vascular leaks in diabetes.

Dr. Ma is a professor in the department of Cell Biology at the Univ. of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center and Prof. and Laureate Chair Dept. Medicine Endocrinology at the Univ. of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.

Recipient of the Research Career Development Award from the National Science Foundation and the Regent’s Award for Superior Accomplish in Research., Dr. Ma has been published in more than 100 publications and has been selected reviewer of 23 medical journals. In addition, he is on the editorial boards of both Journal of Angiogenesis Research and Journal of Ocular Biology, Diseases and Informatics and is associate editor of the Journal of Ocular Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

To learn more about Dr. Ma click here.

R. Hal Scofield, MD: OKC Adult Endocrinology

R. Hal Scofield, MD

R. Hal Scofield, MD

Dr. Scofield is director of the Endocrinology, Diabetes fellowship program and Associate Dean for Clinical & Translational Research and a Professor of Endocrinology at the College of Medicine University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.  Dr. Scofield has been published in more than 170 publications, reviewed manuscripts for more than 30 medical journals and received 18 research support grants.

His research at the Harold Hamm Oklahoma Diabetes Center focuses on diabetes and the immune system. Specifically, Dr. Scofield is studying a powerful genetic linkage most commonly found in African Americans. Chair or member of over 22 NIH committees and panels, he has been the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center’s representative to the American Federation of Clinical Research since 1992. To learn more about Dr. Scofield  click here.

Ming-Hui Zou, MD, PhD: OKC Adult Endocrinology

Dr. Zou

Ming-Hui Zou, MD, PhD

Dr. Zou, director of the vascular biology program, is a Travis Endowed Chair Professor in Endocrinology at the Oklahoma Health Science Center. He is the recipient of more than 14 current research scholarships and grants focusing on regulation of energy metabolism, obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular diseases, in regards to oxidative stress.

Dr. Zou has published more than 70 peer-reviewed articles and 45 abstracts. He’s an editorial board member of the Journal of Diabetes, Diabetes and Lipid Research, Acta Pharmacologica Sinica, and Diabetes, Metabolic Syndrome and Obesity: Targets and Therapy. In 2008 he was elected full Member of the American Society of Clinical Investigation and received the American Heart Association’s National Established Investigator Award. To learn more about Dr. Zou click here.

For information about more researchers: